Gemmell Award Winners 2011

Brandon Sanderson picked up the Legend Award yesterday evening as the fantasy fiction world gathered at The Magic Circle

At the annual awards ceremony at The Magic Circle in London last night, the winners of the third David Gemmell Legend Award picked up their axes.

For the Morningstar Award for Best Newcomer, the winner was Darius Hinks for Warrior Priest (Black Library).

For the Ravenheart Award for Best Cover Artist, the winner was Olof Erla Einarsdottir for the cover of Power And Majesty by Tansy Rayner Roberts (Harper Collins Australia).

And for the Legend Award for Best Novel, the winner was Brandon Sanderson for The Way Of Kings (Gollancz/Tor US) who received the major Snaga axe.

First running in 2009, the event was designed to celebrate the history and cultural importance of fantasy literature, appreciate and reward excellence in the field, and commemorate the legacy of writer David Gemmell.

Hosted by Stan Nicholls and Anne Nicholls, the 2011 event was attended by fans, authors, publishing professionals and influential members of the fantasy and SF community, including representatives of SFX . A charity auction and a reading from David Gemmell’s Shield Of Thunder , performed by author James Barclay, also took place.

We’ll share photography from the evening in due course, and the results are also in the next issue of SFX . Find out more at the Gemmell Award site .

About Fox

Check Also

Win a Blu-ray of Okja

Nowadays South Korean director Bong Joon-Ho is best-known for the Oscar-winning Parasite, but his 2017 …

Leave a Reply