Everquest, Minecraft and Rift awarded at 2011 GDC Awards

Sony Online Entertainment, Mojang Studios and Trion Worlds were among the top honorees at the Game Developers Choice Online Awards. Held last night during the GDC Online event in Austin, Texas the evening celebrated excellence in online gaming, and included the induction of Everquest into GDC’s hallowed Hall of Fame, as well as industry recognition for Minecraft, Rift and a handful of other well-known multiplayer titles.

The complete list of award recipients is as follows:

GDC Hall of Fame: EverQuest (SOE)
Best Live Game/ Best Community Relations: Minecraft (Mojang)
Best Online Technology/Best New Online Game: Rift (Trion Worlds)
Best Online Game Design
: Spiral Knights (Three Rings Design/Sega)
Best Online Visual Arts: DC Universe Online (SOE)
Audience Award Winner: Wizard 101 (KingsIsle Entertainment)
Online Innovation Award : Shadow Cities (Grey Area)
Best Audio for an Online Game: Clone Wars Adventures (SOE)
Best Social Network Game: Gardens of Time (Playdom)

(opens in new tab)

Everquest’s Hall of Fame inclusion was one of the highlights of the night. Presenting the honor was Richard “Lord British” Garriott, creator of last year’s inductee, Ultima Online, who said: “While Ultima Online is often credited with breaking the MMO open, there is no doubt that Everquest perfected it.”

Adding his two cents about SOE’s 12-year-old MMO, SOE President John Smedley added: “We are incredibly proud of its impact on the industry and the community we have built. Tonight’s honor is a testament to the hard working individuals who have contributed to EverQuest — both past and present.”

Accepting Mojang’s multiple awards was Lydia Winters, the studio’s Director of Fun, who said Notch and the team were proud of Minecraft’s accomplishments, noting, “We’re really excited for the release that will be coming out at MineCon, for the actual game to be released.”

GDC also honored both Kelton Flinn and John Taylor, co-founders of one of the groundbreaking Kesmai Corporation in 1981, with its coveted Online Game Legend Award.

Source: GDC Online Awards, Gamasutra

Oct 13, 2011

About Fox

Check Also

Win a Blu-ray of Okja

Nowadays South Korean director Bong Joon-Ho is best-known for the Oscar-winning Parasite, but his 2017 …

Leave a Reply