DC Entertainment unveils major plans for its comic book universe

DC Comics are planning a massive change in direction for their roster of superhero titles this summer. In an attempt to diversify and appeal to a broader audience, the existing New 52 canon will undergo a rebranding.

As of June 3rd the ‘New 52’ tag will be scrapped to pave the way for a more accessible range of comic lines. DC’s new superhero landscape will consist of 24 brand new titles, all beginning at #1, along with 25 previously-existing comics that will continue without a break in numbering.

“This heralds in a new era for the DC Universe which will allow us to publish something for everyone, be more expansive and modern in our approach and tell stories that better reflect the society around us,” said DC Entertainment Co-Publisher Dan DiDio in a press release. “Whether you’ve been a DC fan your whole life, or whether you are new to comics – there will be a book for you beginning in June.”

The end of April and May will see the comic book publisher wrap up several story lines in one giant event, Convergence. This will pave the way for the relaunch.

“Beyond character and creators, the June slate will showcase different styles and approaches to storytelling as we add offbeat, irreverently funny titles such as Bizarro, Bat-Mite and Prez,” said Co-Publisher Jim Lee. “Truly there will be something for everybody as we simultaneously celebrate our rich legacy while embracing new voices and concepts.”

You can check out the list of new titles and the fan favorites slated to continue below:

New Titles

Batman Beyond – written by Dan Jurgens with art by Bernard Chang
Bat-Mite (6-issue limited) – written by Dan Jurgens with art by Corin Howell
Bizarro (6-issue limited) – written by Heath Corson with art by Gustavo Duarte
Black Canary – written by Brenden Fletcher with art by Annie Wu & Irene Koh
Constantine: The Hellblazer – written by Ming Doyle with art by Riley Rossmo
Cyborg – written by David Walker with art by Ivan Reis
Dark Universe – written by James Tynion IV with art by Ming Doyle
Green Lantern: Lost Army – written by Cullen Bunn with art by Jesus Saiz & Javi Pina
Doomed – written by Scott Lobdell with art by Javier Fernandez
Earth 2: Society – written by Daniel Wilson with art by Jorge Jimenez
Dr. Fate – written by Paul Levitz with art by Sonny Liew
Harley Quinn/Power Girl (6-issue limited) – written by Jimmy Palmiotti & Amanda Conner with art by Stephane Roux
Justice League of America – written by Bryan Hitch with art by Bryan Hitch
Justice League 3001 written by Keith Giffen with art by Howard Porter
Martian Manhunter – written by Rob Williams with art by Ben Oliver
Midnighter – written by Steve Orlando with art by ACO
Mystic U – written by Alisa Kwitney
Omega Men – written by Tom King with art by Alec Morgan
Prez – written by Mark Russell with art by Ben Caldwell
Red Hood/Arsenal – written by Scott Lobdell with art by Denis Medri
Robin, Son of Batman – written by Patrick Gleason with art by Patrick Gleason
Section Eight (6-issue limited) – written by Garth Ennis with art by John McCrea
Starfire – written by Jimmy Palmiotti & Amanda Conner with art by Emanuela Lupacchino
We Are Robin – written by Lee Bermejo with art by Khary Randolph

Ongoing Titles

Action Comics – written by Greg Pak with art by Aaron Kuder
Aquaman – written by Cullen Bunn with art by Trevor McCarthy
Batgirl – written by Cameron Stewart & Brenden Fletcher with art by Babs Tarr
Batman- written by Scott Snyder with art by Greg Capullo
Detective Comics – written by Brian Buccelato & Francis Manapul with art by Francis Manapul
Batman/Superman – written by Greg Pak with art by Ardian Syaf
Catwoman – written by Genevieve Valentine with art by David Messina
Deathstroke – written by Tony S. Daniel with art by Tony S. Daniel
The Flash – written by Robert Venditti & Van Jensen with art by Brett Booth
Gotham Academy- written by Becky Cloonan & Brenden Fletcher with art by Karl Kerschl
Gotham By Midnight – written by Ray Fawkes with art by Juan Ferreyra
Grayson – written by Tom King & Tim Seeley with art by Mikel Janin
Green Arrow- written by Ben Percy with art by Zircher
Green Lantern – written by Robert Venditti with art by Billy Tan
Harley Quinn – written by Jimmy Palmiotti & Amanda Conner with art by Chad Hardin
Justice League – written by Geoff Johns with art by Jason Fabok
Justice League United – creative team unannounced
Lobo – written by Cullen Bunn with art by Cliff Richards
Secret Six – written by Gail Simone with art by Dale Eaglesham
Sinestro – written by Cullen Bunn with art by Bradley Walker
New Suicide Squad – written by Sean Ryan with art by Carlos D’Anda
Superman – written by Gene Luen Yang with art by John Romita, Jr.
Superman/Wonder Woman – written by Peter J. Tomasi with art by Doug Mahnke
Teen Titans – written by Will Pfeifer with art by Kenneth Rocafort
Wonder Woman – written by Meredith Finch with art by David Finch

About Fox

Check Also

Win a Blu-ray of Okja

Nowadays South Korean director Bong Joon-Ho is best-known for the Oscar-winning Parasite, but his 2017 …

Leave a Reply